Badin HS held crucifix logo
  1.  < 
  2. Press Releases  

October 27, 2022

Badin inducts 52 into its National Honor Society chapter

Badin High School inducted 52 students into its National Honor Society chapter Tuesday, Oct. 25, during its annual evening ceremony in the school's Mulcahey Gym.

Quick change at Badin! Badin High School seniors Lauren Trusock, Teagan Hickey, Alyvia Hegemann and Lauren Christie were among 52 students inducted into the school's National Honor Society chapter during an evening ceremony in Mulcahey Gym on Tuesday, Oct. 25. The foursome had a busy night -- they were involved in a Division II tournament volleyball match at Lebanon High at 5:30 p.m., then rushed back in time for the 7 p.m. NHS ceremony. They're good athletes, too -- Badin won the volleyball match, 3-0, over Monroe.

"Being inducted into National Honor Society is an outstanding accomplishment," Badin Principal Patrick Keating said. "It's about more than just doing well in the classroom. It's about making a positive impact in the school; about being a part of the Badin fabric over and above a student's academic excellence."

National Honor Society recognizes students who excel in academics, character, service and leadership. The Oct. 25 event added 21 seniors, 20 juniors and 11 sophomores to Badin's NHS chapter. That represented the first time in two decades that Badin inducted top sophomores into the organization. It brings the current National Honor Society membership at Badin to 73 students, with 21 members of the Class of 2023 inducted during the 2021-22 school year.

Each inductee was introduced with a paragraph they had written about their experience at Badin High. Assistant Principals Mrs. Patty Gibbons and Ms. Sara Ransom were the readers at the event, Principal Mr. Patrick Keating had the keynote remarks, and senior Mary Giffen, president of NHS at Badin, was the master of ceremonies.

Seniors inducted included Anthony Abata, Emma Brecht, Lainey Brossart, Lauren Christie, Matthew Cochran, Madeline DeLong, Abby Englehardt, Josie Grabel, Alyvia Hegemann, Teagan Hickey, Alyssa Jackson, Nate Marischen, Marissa Rose, John Ruppert, Annie Schneider, Lauren Stidham, Lauren Trusock, Allison Vess, Nate White, Zak White and Jimmy Zettler.

Juniors inducted included Tyler Abner, Brayden Eldridge, Paige Harris, Rudy Joesting, Veronica Keil, Abbie Krazl, Gracie Lees, Grace Leitzel, Ty Long, Cameron Mueller, Annie Nguyen, Nate Ostendorf, Sam Pendergest, Maggie Peter, Katie Schwartz, Sami Tokarczyk, Lena Trokhan, Annie Whalen, Sophia Williams and Grant Wissman.

Sophomores inducted included Courtney Boomer, Kathleen Burke, Macbeth Flores-Ramirez, Michelle Garcia, Audrey Graf, Josie Halverson, Abbie Kessler, Claire Ressler, Claire Rumpke, Eli Wesner and Aydyn Yang-Smith.

Joining Mary Giffen as officers in Badin's National Honor Society chapter are Ainsley Brandabur, who serves as vice president; June Meehan, secretary; Brianna Baker, treasurer; and JJ Even, academics and service chair. Mr. Jordan Seitz and Mr. Sean Stewart are Badin's NHS faculty moderators.

Contact: Dirk Q. Allen, or (513) 869-4490

Additional Press Releases

National Honor Society logo